PANAAWTM began as a small group of Asian and Asian American women who were enrolled in graduate theological institutions or working in ministry in the US in 1984. Before PANAAWTM, several Asian American members from the West Coast were active in PACTS (Pacific Asian Center for Theology and Strategies). Over the years, our network has expanded and 2021 marks our 36th year!

PANAAWTM members are Asian and North American Asian female students, faculty, ministers, and community activists who are committed to bringing women's voices and concerns to the faith communities and society. We have published books on feminist studies in theology and religion, challenged patriarchal practices in churches, organized annual conferences, and mentored students and the upcoming generation of women leaders. Because of COVID-19, we could not hold our annual conference in 2020. We will hold our annual conference from April 15-17, 2021 via Zoom.

Celebrating our 36th year!

For 36 years, PANAAWTM has refused to see Asian and Asian American realities as sharply divided and provided opportunities for transnational linkages and conversations.


Our Mission

To co-create theologies and generate new knowledge in our own voices for justice, peace, and creation care.


To support our work and leadership for faith communities, educational institutions, and other sectors of society.


To mentor new generations.


To engage and lead local communities across North America in transformative praxis.


To contribute to transnational feminist theological conversations.

panaawtm 2016.3.jpg

Our Board

  • Dr. Rita Nakashima Brock,  Volunteers of America

  • Dr. Jung Ha Kim, Chair, Georgia State University

  • Dr. Nami Kim, Spelman College

  • Dr. Kwok Pui Lan, Candler School of Theology

  • Dr. Boyung Lee, Iliff School of Theology

  • Dr. Keun-Joo Christine Pae, Secretary, Denison University

  • Dr. Su Yon Pak,Treasurer, Union Theological Seminary in NY

  • Ms. Lisa Asedillo Cunningham, Drew University


Our Committees

Finance & Fundraising Committee

Rita Nakashima Brock (Chair), Mary Foskett, Hannah Ka, Kwok Pui Lan, and Su Yon Pak

Mentoring & Program/Education Committee

Boyung Lee (Chair), Jin Young Choi, Grace Y. Kao, and Su Yon Pak

Research & Publication Committee

Nami Kim (Chair), Mary Foskett, Esther Parajuli, Heike Peckruhn, Yuki Schwartz, and Gale A. Yee

Communication & Publicity Committee

Kwok Pui Lan (Chair), Janelle Hiroshige, Christine Hong, Eunchong Kim, Mihee Kim-Kort, and Breana van Velzen

Annual Conference & Program Committee

Keun-Joo Christine Pae (Chair), Nami Kim and Lisa Asedillo Pratt